Nominations for 2018 award recipients are open!

Awards include the Distinguished Young Pharmacist, Excellence in Innovation, Generation Rx Champions, Pharmacy Technician of the Year, Fitzgerald Pharmacist of the Year, Bowl of Hygeia

Click here to nominate an individual(s) online.

Click here for a hard copy nomination form.

View a full listing of all past award recipients.

2018 MPA Annual Award Recipients

Bowl of Hygeia
Tricia Campbell, PharmD - Polson

From the award nomination:  "Tricia's professionalism is unmatched. She is hardworking, respected and loyal. As a dedicated pharmacist, she always goes the extra mile to counsel and talk to customers. Numerous times she has been asked to provide immunizations or other pharmacy services to patients who are home bound. "

"For over 25 years, she has been an active member of the Polson First Presbyterian Church. There, she coordinates monthly dinners, has served as a dean, an elder and teacher. Tricia is also a member of the local PEO chapter that offers local and national scholarships to young women. She currently volunteers at Montechato Clubhouse, a neighborhood woman's organization that maintains an historic clubhouse, offers community services and girl's scholarships. Another passion of Tricia's is Mission Valley Live- this nonprofit brings live entertainment to our small community, providing cultural experiences, music, and fine arts not normally available to adults and children in Polson and Mission Valley."

We recognize the accomplishments of such a deserving recipient. Tricia epitomizes the principles of community service for which award was developed.

Distinguished Young Pharmacist of the Year
Tom Richardson, PharmD - St. Peter's Health, Helena

From the award nomination:  "Tom is a rock star young leader in pharmacy practice in Montana. He established a pharmacy residency program at St. Peter's and raised pharmacy practice to new heights. He is a recognized expert in infectious disease, and is the only Montana pharmacist to hold the added infectious disease designation AC-ID through BPS.

Tom is an active member of the Montana Pharmacy Association as well as the Hospital Academy. He has been nominated to serve on both boards for the past 2 elections. Because of his outstanding contributions to the profession of pharmacy, he exemplifies and exceeds the criteria required as an award recipient. We congratulate you Tom.

Excellence in Innovation
Joshua Loveland, PharmD - Shodair Children's Hospital, Helena

From  the award nomination: " Joshua implemented the use of Medicaid web portals for children admitted to Shodair Children's Hospital. These reports allow for easier access to medication histories for patients with neurological and psychiatric conditions. A pharmacist can then identify trialed medications, doses, and drug interactions which may have been therapeutic failures."

Recently, Joshua has assisted with a future publication and poster entitled "Beyond Medication Reconciliation: Pharmacists Can Provide Complete Medication Histories for Medicaid Recipients".  In addition, he has performed research on the Cytochrome P450 Enzymes in American Indian and Caucasion Children. He is an expert in utilizing pharmacogenetic results and applying them to psychiatric in-patients.

Fitzgerald Pharmacist of the Year
Lonnye Finnenman, Pharm D - Billings

From the award nomination: "

Generation Rx Champions
Derek Burns, PharmD 

From the award nomination: "

Pharmacy Technician of the Year
Rachael Burden, CPhT - Silvertip Pharmacy, West Yellowstone

From the award nomination: